Get What You Need to Vote!


North Dakota’s new voter ID law means that many of North Dakota’s tribal residents will need new identification in order to vote on election day. We have you covered. If you live on Standing Rock and need an ID with a street address or any other help with voting, please call 701-854-VOTE (8683) or go to the Standing Rock tribal headquarters to get the documentation you need. If you are a member of any other tribe in North Dakota, please call your tribal office immediately. You can download a pdf of the press release here, and the following tribal voting information, here.

Standing Rock Sioux Tribe

Due to the new North Dakota Voter ID requirements, all Standing Rock Sioux tribal members, age 17 years and older, can be issued a new Tribal ID at the Old BIA Building, in the Enrollment Office, for free of charge. The time frame to obtain new, free Tribal ID Cards is from now until Nov. 6, 2018.

Standing Rock Enrollment Office: 701-854-VOTE (8683)

Polling places:
Selfridge High School
Solen Fire Shed
Porcupine Community
Cannonball Community
Sioux County Courthouse

Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians

The following are the sites, dates, and times that community members can pick up their Tribal Identification Cards:
Oct. 18 - Nov. 6 at the TM Motor Vehicle Office (located at the Tribal Headquarters)
8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m.
Nov. 5 - Sky Dancer Hotel and Casino
8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Nov. 6 - the TMMVD will be at each polling site to issue the IDs.

If you have any questions, feel free to call the Turtle Mountain Motor Vehicle Department at (701) 477-2651 or (701) 477-2652.

Also, if you would like to obtain your physical address, please contact the Rolette County Emergency Management Office at (701) 477-0911 and ask for Curt Bonn. His office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Tribal Headquarters
4180 Highway 281
Belcourt, ND 58316
Open: 8 am - 4:30 pm

Spirit Lake
Tribal phone number: 701-766-4221

Three Affiliated Tribes (Fort Berthold)

Tribal IDs are available free of charge to eligible members from now until Nov. 6 at the Three Affiliated Tribes Office of Enrollment, located at 1 Minne-Tohe Drive, New Town, ND (Old IHS Clinic). Office hours are Mon. - Fri. 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST.

Tribe phone number: 701-627-4238

Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate Nation
(Sisseton has two counties in N.D.)

Tribal building: 12554 BIA HWY 711, Agency Village, SD 57262
P.O. Box 509
12554 BIA HWY 711, Agency Village, SD 57262

Main Phone: 605-698-3911 or TOLL FREE 833-698-3911